Funky Folk, Pumping Progression & the Boldest Move in Dance Music Yet!

March 23, 2013 -

Finn Lurcott

Last night, whilst thousands of lucky fan's hit the first night of Ultra Music Festival's second weekend at Miami Music Week, music fans all over the world were left to hit the Ultra Live Stream, which streamed live from Daily Beat last night. Staying up till 3am last night to tune into Avicii, I was hit with something very different to what I was expecting. Avicii had let loose before that he would be premiering some of the tracks from his new album, and we were in for something very different. After opening with classic tracks such as Two Million, and Plastik Funk & Tujamo's 'Who', he finished the first half of his set, with an old school original of Etta Jane's 'Something's Gotta Hold On Me', moving into his hit 'Levels'. The lights went down, the crowd looked confused, and Avicii reappeared with a whole host of musicians. We heard track after track from his new album, all featuring live musicians, including banjo, guitar, and vocalists. Even Aloe Black sang on one of his new tracks, before he moved into a fresh collab with Lana Del Ray. This track killed it, with serious feel good vibes!

Whilst this performance has been met with a lot of criticism, its important to remember how significant this is for the world of electronic dance music. The breaking down of genre barriers is what made genres such as Trap so successful, and whilst this may have startled fans, it was definitely a huge slap in the face to his critics.

For the last couple of years, Electronic Music purists have laughed at Avicii arguing he has no original sound, but you can't get much more original than this. Avicii has made a brave move, which could create a whole new wave into the way electronic dance music is understood! Check out out exclusive Daily Beat cover below!
Before listening to Avicii's set, here are some key takeaways we've come up with:

01. Us here at Daily Beat provided our own 30-second introduction of the set from yours truly, Finn Lurcott.
02. We still are not sure that the Lana Del Rey collaboration is actually Lana Del Rey. But we will definitely be on the lookout for news regarding this today.
03. Our cut of Avicii's live set in fact cuts to a different broadcast that is not part of Avicii’s set around the 38 minute mark.

Avicii Live @ Ultra Music Festival Track Listing:

Introduction: Finn Lurcott - Daily Beat

01. Avicii - Two Million
02. Tim Berg - Alcoholic (Alesso Remix)
03. Pharoahe Monch - Simon Says
04. Plastik Funk & Tujamo - Who
05. Avicii Levels (Vitzi Old School Intro Bootleg)
with Etta James - Something's Got A Hold On Me
with Avicii - Levels
06. Avicii feat. Aloe Blacc - ID
07. Avicii feat. Audra Mae - ID
08. Avicii feat. Audra Mae - ID (Wildboy) (Working Title)
09. Avicii - ID
10. Avicii - ID
11. Rob Dougan - Clubbed to Death (ID Remix)
12. Hard Rock Sofa vs. The Temper Trap - Sweet Quasar (Tom Fall Mashup)
13. Calvin Harris feat. Ne-Yo - Let's Go (Hard Rock Sofa & Swanky Tunes Remix)
14. Avicii feat. Audra Mae - ID
15. Avicii - ID

You Might Also Like...

June 1, 2023
Beldon Haigh's 'Need My Local Radio' Advocates for Strong Local Media Support

Beldon Haigh was deeply moved when he learned about the impending job and programming cuts at BBC radio Humberside. This […]

Read More
May 26, 2023
KAYRXN Drops Highly Anticipated Hip Hop Sequel 'Make It Out Pt. 2'

Baltimore-born hip-hop and rap artist KAYRXN is causing a stir in the music world with his distinctively vibrant style and […]

Read More
May 25, 2023
Matt Cleare Unleashes Unique Music Video In Release 'Evelyne!'

Atlanta-based artist Matt Cleare, hailing from the vibrant city of Miami, has unleashed his latest musical creation upon the world […]

Read More

Leave a Reply

The Latest & Greatest in Music, Arts, & Culture